TO MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

Notice is hereby given that a special meeting of the Council of the London Borough of Bromley is to be held in the Council Chamber at Bromley Civic Centre on Wednesday 16 May 2018 at 6.00 pm or on the rising of the earlier special meeting, which meeting the Members of the Council are hereby summoned to attend.

Prayers

AGENDA

1 ADMISSION OF HONORARY ALDERMEN (Pages 3 - 4)

To consider the attached report from the General Purposes and Licensing Committee recommending that the nominated individuals listed be considered for appointment as Honorary Aldermen by virtue of section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.



Agenda Item 1

GENERAL PURPOSES AND LICENSING COMMITTEE

Extract from the Minutes of the meeting held at 7.00 pm on 6 February 2018

Present:

Councillor Ian F. Payne (Chairman)
Councillor Stephen Wells (Vice-Chairman)
Councillors Vanessa Allen, Graham Arthur, Alan Collins,
Robert Evans, Ellie Harmer, David Livett,
Charles Rideout QPM CVO, Tim Stevens, Teresa Te and
Michael Turner

Also Present:

Councillor Simon Fawthrop and Councillor Peter Fookes

319 APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN AND HONORARY FREEMAN

Report CSD18022

The Committee received a report setting out proposals for the appointment of an Honorary Freeman (Cllr Stephen Carr) and six Honorary Aldermen (Cllrs Douglas Auld, Eric Bosshard, Peter Fookes, Catherine Rideout, Charles Rideout and former Cllr Reg Adams.) Further details were set out in an appendix.

RESOLVED that the proposed appointments of an Honorary Freeman and Honorary Aldermen be recommended to Council.

Appendix

APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN AND HONORARY FREEMEN

At a meeting of the cross-party Honorary Aldermen Working Group on Monday $5^{\rm th}$ February, the following Members and one former Member were recommended to be appointed as an Honorary Freeman and as Honorary Aldermen –

Honorary Freeman

Tionorally i recinali		
Name	First Elected	Posts held
Stephen Carr	1999	Leader of the Council, 2004-17 Social Care Health & Housing Portfolio Holder 2002-4

Honorary Aldermen

Honorary Algermen			
Name	First Elected	Posts held	
Douglas Auld	2006	Mayor 2009/10 Public Protection & Safety PDS Chairman 2011-13	
Eric Bosshard	2006	E&R PDS Chairman 2010-15	
Peter Fookes	1990	Co-leader of the Council, 2001 Labour Group Leader 2001/2, 2013/14	
Catherine Rideout	2002	Mayor 2003/04 Executive Assistant, CYP and Adult and Community Services	
Charles Rideout	2001	Community Safety Portfolio Holder 2002/3 Social Care Health & Housing PDR/Adult & Community PDS Chairman 2004-7	
Reg Adams	2002/14	Deputy Mayor 2011/12 Executive Member without Portfolio2007/10 Liberal Democrat Group Deputy Leader	